Gluten-Free Recipes

When I decided to give up gluten, I thought it would be impossible. Wheat and flour are in EVERYTHING! I did a little internet research to see what I could and could not eat if I was going to fully commit to this diet. This article was very helpful in telling me what to avoid, what to check, and what was OK. Basically, the foods to avoid list was intimidating:

  • Barley
  • Bran (oat, wheat)
  • Bulgur
  • Cooking spray for baking (may contain wheat flour)
  • Couscous
  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Farina
  • Farro
  • Flour containing wheat, barley, or rye or any of their derivatives
  • Graham flour
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Kamut
  • Malted milk
  • Malt flavorings
  • Malt vinegar
  • Matzo
  • Meat, poultry, seafood, or vegetables that are breaded, floured, served with a sauce made from wheat, or marinated in a wheat-based sauce such as soy or teriyaki
  • Rye
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Wheat
  • Wheat germ

See what I mean?! If I’m not allowed to eat any of these things, what could I eat? Well, after scouring the interwebs for a little bit, I did find a decent collection of recipes to get me started. This got me through my first gluten-free week and gave me the confidence I needed to continue eating and cooking this way. I’ll post reviews of some of these recipes soon.

Better Homes and Gardens Gluten Free Recipes
Simply Recipes – Gluten Free Recipes
King Arthur Flour Gluten Free Recipes
Gluten-Free Goddess Recipes

One thought on “Gluten-Free Recipes

  1. Bless you heart, Kim! I’m going to check ’em all out!

    Love, KBB

    PS, hope your darling doggie’s toe is feeling better today.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

