Baked Kale Chips

Kale chips. Yes, you read that correctly. I made kale chips. It isn’t something I’d typically choose to make, but I was intrigued. I kept hearing friends and food bloggers rave about these as a great alternative to regular potato chips, so I was interested to see what the hype was all about.

I happened to have some kale left over after testing a recipe for America’s Test Kitchen. My family isn’t real big on leafy green foods, and I didn’t want to waste the kale, so I thought it was the perfect time to attempt kale chips.

First of all, this is probably the easiest recipe I’ve ever followed. Second of all, I was pleasantly surprised by the awesome flavor and texture! I now understand what everyone was raving about!

I’m not sure I’d go out of my way to make these all the time, but I will absolutely make these when I have extra kale laying around. I love how easy it is and how simple it would be to try different seasonings. The health benefits as compared to fried potato chips are undeniable as well. Enjoy!

Baked Kale  Baked Kale chips

Baked Kale Chips

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients:
1 bunch of kale
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon seasoned salt


Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Line a non-insulated cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  3. With a knife or kitchen shears, carefully remove the leaves from the thick stems and tear into bit sized pieces.
  4. Wash and thoroughly dry kale.
  5. Drizzle kale with olive oil. Make sure all the kale is covered in a thin layer. Sprinkle with seasoning salt.
  6. Bake until the edges brown but are not burnt (10-15 minutes)

One thought on “Baked Kale Chips

  1. That’s amazing, Kim! Gotta try this one.

    Have you made fresh kale salad? I was watching a cooking show on which they made one — and massaged the leaves to make them more tender. It’s counter intuitive, feels funny to me, but I guess I’ll try it sometime….

    Have a great weekend. At least it’s sunny.

    Love, KBB

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

