Old Fashioned Apple Slab

I know, I had no idea what an apple slab was, either.

One of my favorite email subscriptions has to be to King Arthur Flour. I’m obsessed with them – their ingredients, products, recipes, you name it. It is also one of the few paper catalogs that I actually read (and look forward to receiving) every single month.

When I was trying to decide what to make for Thanksgiving dessert, I immediately thought of that KAF email sitting in my inbox. My husband loves all things apple, and I had already decided to make a Pumpkin Roll, so this Old Fashioned Apple Slab recipe was a clear winner. I had all the ingredients except for the buttermilk powder. I did, however, have buttermilk, so I used about 2 Tablespoons of buttermilk in the crust, and cut down on the amount of water I used.

The result was a better version of the best apple pie you’ve ever had. Essentially, an apple slab is an apple pie baked in a 9×13 pan, with a glaze drizzled on top. I don’t know how it can be so much better than an apple pie, but it is. You have to try this for yourself – you can thank me later.

old fashioned apple slab

Leave a Reply

