Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (with browned butter)

I discovered browned butter last year when I made these Pumpkin Cookies with Browned Butter Icing, and I have to say that it makes EVERYTHING better. That’s a fact.

After perusing the ‘net (do people still call it that?) for something sweet to bring over to a friend’s house for a casual dinner Friday night, I decided to create/adapt my own. If you follow my blog at all, you might get the impression that I’m a little lazy. It’s OK. It’s true. So, I was on the hunt for a recipe that used ingredients I already had on hand. Thanks to my Twitter feed, I was introduced to this recipe for White Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies with Browned Butter. There were only two flaws with this recipe: 1) I did not have dried cranberries (no big deal; I had raisins) and 2) My husband does not like white chocolate (another non-issue….easy to omit).

So alas, I modified that recipe and ended up with a really yummy oatmeal raisin cookie. I added white chocolate chips to about 1/3 of the batch. I keep taste testing each version (with and without white chocolate chips) and can’t figure out which I like better 🙂 The browned butter really gives these cookies a nice, nutty flavor. I might add chopped pecans if I make them again. Give these a shot if you’re up for straying from your go-to oatmeal cookie recipe!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies with Browned Butter

Ingredients:
2 cups flour
1 t. baking powder
1/2 t. baking soda
1 t. salt
1 t. cinnamon
16 T. butter (2 sticks)
1 c. brown sugar, firmly packed
1/2 c. white sugar
2 eggs
2 t. vanilla
2 c. oats
1 c. raisins
1 c. white chocolate chips (optional)
1 c. chopped nuts (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.
  2. In a medium mixing bowl combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Mix well and set aside.
  3. Put the raisins in a small bowl of warm/hot water (enough to cover all the raisins) and set aside.
  4. In a large mixing bowl combine the brown sugar and granulated sugar.  Set aside.
  5. Add the butter to a medium skillet over medium heat.  Allow the butter to foam.  Once the foam has cleared gently stir the butter with a wooden spoon until it begins to brown.  Continue stirring gently until the butter smells nutty and has browned.
  6. Remove the butter from the heat and immediately pour into the mixing bowl with the sugars.  Mix well to combine.
  7. Add the eggs to the sugar mixture one at a time, beating after each addition.
  8. Stir in the vanilla.
  9. Slowly add the flour mixture to the sugar mixture stirring well to combine.
  10. Drain the raisins that have been soaking in warm water.
  11. Stir in the oats, raisins, white chocolate chips and nuts, taking care to evenly distribute them throughout the cookie dough.
  12. Drop tablespoons of dough onto the cookie sheets 3 inches apart.
  13. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the edges are just browned.
  14. Remove from oven and allow to cool for 2-3 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (with browned butter)

  1. Pingback: Oatmeal Raisin Walnut Cookies | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Oatmeal Raisin Walnut Cookies | Can't Stay Out Of The KitchenCan't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

