Warped Tour

Today is Warped Tour in Chicago (well, Tinley Park, which isn’t actually that close to Chicago). I love Warped Tour. I went to my first one 12 years ago. I went every year for about 8 years, then on and off for the last few. I’m too old. Warped Tour has a “Parent Daycare” tent…and…I’m now a parent. So, I feel like I have no business going anymore…until Noah’s like 10-12. Then I’ll gladly take him and sit in the parent tent or secretly crowd surf.

I’m sad, though, because there are so many bands that I want to see! The real reason I’m not going today is that the temperature is in the triple digits and I just don’t have it in me to get that hot and sweaty for 8+ hours.

Here’s a list of who I absolutely would have attempted to see:

And those are only the bands I know. Part of why I love Warped Tour so much is the fact that it’s the perfect opportunity to learn about and experience new bands.

With that, I’ll leave you with some of my favorite Warped Tour memories:

  • Pushing our way to the very front to see Green Day (circa 2000), and then passing out right before they took the stage. Passing out to the point where my friends had to carry me out of the crowd. We lost our spot and I had to watch Green Day (my favorite band) from the food counter with strangers pouring ice on me. I was pissed.
  • The shock value in seeing people pass out condoms to anyone with a heartbeat. I had never seen teenage sex to condoned…let alone promoted.
  • Seeing Andrew W.K. Never mind that we were really far back in the crowd. He still put on one Hell of a show.
  • Briefly talking to the guys from Allister (another favorite band at the time). Back-story: there was one summer when D and I saw pretty much every local show that Allister did. It seemed like every weekend and we were always front and center. Scotty (the lead singer) definitely recognized us. It was the closest I’ve ever felt to being a groupy.
  • Seeing The Millionaires for the first time and being utterly appalled that the tweens knew every word and were getting into the songs. Filthy. Raunchy. Yet intriguing.

Leave a Reply

