Caramel Syrup

After making my Watermelon Sorbet, I had some leftover simple syrup. I had remembered reading about flavored syrups in Annie’s Eats (one of the many baking blogs I follow), and decided that was the perfect way to use up my leftovers. Randomly, I happened to have some caramel sauce in my refrigerator, so clearly this was just meant to be. It’s a great addition to your morning coffee, even if you usually take it black (like I do).

I followed Annie’s directions exactly, but adjusted the amounts of ingredients just a little. Here’s what I did:

Caramel Syrup
Ingredients:
1-1/2 cup sugar
1-1/2 cup water
3/4 cups caramel sauce

Directions:
Combine the sugar, water and caramel sauce in a small saucepan.  Heat the mixture over medium-high, stirring occasionally, until the sugar has dissolved and the mixture is smooth.  Remove from the heat and let cool.  Store in the refrigerator.

Note: Shown above with Nonni’s new Salted Caramel Biscotti – YUM!

Leave a Reply

