Dark Chocolate Sorbet

In case you’ve been living in a dark hole, tomorrow is Valentine’s Day ❤ To me, Valentine’s Day is a special time for all things chocolate and all things overly romantic and cheesy. I don’t need flowers or breakfast in bed, but I best get the most gushingly awesome romantic card from my husband 🙂 Chocolates are nice, but I don’t mind getting those for myself.

If chocolate is your thing, then you MUST try this dark chocolate sorbet. I adapted Ina Garten’s recipe and tried a spicy version and a cinnamony version. I think I like it somewhere in between, but closer to the spicy version. It had a little too much kick for my husband, but I was a fan after the initial punch in the back of the throat. This recipe is so simple, easily adaptable, involves few ingredients and is insanely decadent. I highly recommend you give this one a shot! Enjoy!

Dark Chocolate Sorbet

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup very good cocoa powder (I used dutch process from King Arthur Flour)
1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon (or more, to your liking)
1/8 teaspoon cayenne *optional* (and you do not need more than 1/8 tsp, even this will make it super hot!)
1/8 teaspoon kosher salt
2 cups water
1/4 cup brewed espresso (I used 1/4 teaspoon espresso powder mixed with 1/4 cup water)

Directions:

  1. In a large saucepan, mix the sugar, cocoa powder, vanilla, cinnamon, (cayenne, if you choose) and salt.
  2. Stir in 2 cups water and the espresso. Cook over low heat until the ingredients are dissolved.
  3. Transfer to plastic containers and refrigerate until very cold.
  4. Freeze the mixture in an ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s directions (I put it in my Cuisineart for about 15 minutes).
  5. The sorbet will still be soft; place it in a plastic container and freeze for 1 hour or overnight, until firm enough to scoop.

Leave a Reply

