Vanilla Spice Bread (for the bread maker)

As you saw, my last post was about the awesome bread maker I got for Christmas. I immediately tried it and made a loaf of white bread just because I could. It was awesome. In less than four hours, I had a giant two-pound loaf and my house smelled nothing short of amazing. I did, however, learn a couple lessons from this first bread maker experience.

  1. A giant two-pound loaf of white bread is too tall to fit into a sandwich bag!
  2. A giant two-pound loaf is also far too much for two people to finish before it goes bad.

So, that said, I wanted to try to make a different kind of bread, and this time I’d cut the recipe in half so as to have a more “normal” sized loaf of bread. After scouring the interwebs and food blogs for a suitable recipe (of which I actually had the ingredients on hand), I decided to creat my own recipe, inspired by this Vanilla Spice Bread recipe I found from the oh-so-trusty allrecipes.com site.

The original recipe looked great, but it wanted me to just mix the dough in the bread maker, and then transfer it to a loaf pan for the proofing and baking. I didn’t want to do that. I wanted to throw my ingredients in the bread maker, walk away for a few hours, and come back to delicious bread. So, I adapted it a bit and played around with different ingredients.

The result was better than I expected (only because when I get  creative and stop measuring, the result isn’t always top notch). I ended up with a “normal” sized loaf of bread that smelled like vanilla and cinnamon. I was afraid it would be too sweet, but the taste was actually pretty subtle. My husband and I plowed through half the loaf (perhaps more…) in just a few minutes. I haven’t tried it any way but plain yet, but I think it would lend itself to a pretty spectacular PB&J. I think my favorite part of this bread is the fact that it’s nice and chewy and the crust has enough crunch to offer a good contrast, but not so much that it’s a pain to eat. Yum!

Ingredients:

3/4 cup water
1 tablespoon dry milk powder
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1 tablespoon white sugar
1/8 teaspoon ground cardamom
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons apple sauce
1/2 teaspoons salt
1 1/2 cups bread flour
1  teaspoon instant yeast

Directions

  1. Place water, milk, vanilla extract, brown sugar, white sugar, spices, apple sauce, and salt into the pan of a bread machine in that order.
  2. Pour the flour onto the other ingredients, and sprinkle the flour with yeast.
  3. Set the bread machine to your desired cycle; turn on the machine.

2 thoughts on “Vanilla Spice Bread (for the bread maker)

  1. Pingback: … and that’s why I love my bread maker |

  2. Pingback: Spicy Seed Bread | Alison Amazed

Leave a Reply

