DIY: Vanilla Extract (part 2)

You might recall that back in October, I decided to make my own vanilla extract since it seemed to be all the rage. It was really easy to do, and so far I haven’t noticed a difference between homemade and store-bought…except that it’s way cheaper to DIY.

I bought my jars and vanilla beans from Amazon and tried a couple different kinds of vanilla beans: Bourbon, Mexican, and Madagascar. I think I prefer the Bourbon vanilla beans, but I’m not sure I’d be able to tell much of a difference. I experimented with vodka and rum since I’d heard you could use either. I haven’t compared them yet, so we’ll see what happens. Regardless, I think I’ll stick to this method rather than purchasing my vanilla extract from now on.

Have any of you tried this yet? What do you think?

DIY Vanilla Extract

Ingredients:
3 whole vanilla beans per 8 oz of vodka
clean glass bottle or jar
8 oz cheap vodka

Directions:
Split the vanilla beans lengthwise and place them in a clean glass bottle or jar. Fill the bottle with vodka. Seal the lid or top tightly and place in a dark and cool place for 2 months. Shake the bottle from time to time.

One thought on “DIY: Vanilla Extract (part 2)

  1. Pingback: CRÈME DE MENTHE | Suburbhomestead's Blog

Leave a Reply

