Homemade Flaky Pastry Dough

I try to bake from scratch as much as possible. I don’t buy my pie crusts, and I don’t (usually) buy my puff pastry either. I’ve been on the search for a good pastry dough recipe for awhile. It’s nearing the end of apple season here in the Midwest, which means it’s prime baking time for apple treats, which are my husband’s favorite. Every year I get the request for apple crisp and apple turnovers. I tried making apple turnovers with my favorite pie crust recipe, but it wasn’t the same. It was missing something.

This year I think I finally got it. It took a few years of trial and error, but this recipe I came up with is a keeper! I most recently used it for apple turnovers, but I think it would be great for any sweet recipe. If you’re looking for savory, just add less sugar and you should be good to go.

Homemade Pastry Dough

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 tbsp. chilled shortening
1 stick (8 oz.) chilled butter, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1/4 tsp. salt
2 tbsp. granulated sugar
1/3 cup iced water
Mix the flour and fats (butter and shortening) together in a large mixing bowl until the mixture is crumbly (use a pastry blender, two forks, or your fingers). Dissolve the salt and sugar in the iced water, and then blend it into flour and fat with a rubber spatula. With your hands,  the dough into a ball. Turn it out onto a  pasty cloth (or board, or waxed paper), and quickly knead it with the heel of your hands (just a couple times is fine). Gather the dough into a ball, flour lightly, and wrap in waxed paper or plastic wrap to chill for at least two hours. Makes an 8 to 10 inch shell or a 12 x 8 inch rectangle.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Flaky Pastry Dough

  1. Pingback: Your Favorites of 2012 « Things K Likes

Leave a Reply

